排除字体无法导出的故障

教程
作者:Rainer Erich Scheichelbauer
en fr zh

 

Sometimes, you try to export a font but instead you get weird error messages. Here is how to fix that.

这种情况时有发生:你试图通过 “文件 > 导出” 导出一款字体,但是只得到了一个奇怪的报错信息,写着 “makeotfGlyphs”。哈?

现在,这意味着软件内建的 makeotf 命令(你可能已经猜到了,它用于生成 OTF 文件)被所提供的字体数据卡住了。造成此问题的最可能原因是字符形名称有误。但是要找出问题的确切原因,我们需要自己运行一下 makeotf 命令,看看发生了什么。

为此,你只需点击报错对话框的 “详细” 按钮。你会被直接带去字当前体工程文件的 Temp 文件夹。你可以跳过后面两段内容。

或者、如果你的对话框上没有 “详细” 按钮,我们需要前往 ~/Application Support/Glyphs/Temp/。最快的办法是通过 “脚本 > 打开脚本文件夹” 命令。Glyphs 会在访达中打开这个文件夹。啊实际上,是打开了它的上层文件夹,Glyphs 的 Application Support 文件夹。在这里,你可以看到很多东西:除了 Scripts 文件夹外,还可能有 Plugins 和 Info 文件夹。但我们现在感兴趣的,是 Temp 文件夹。

现在,在 Temp 文件夹中,你会看到 OTF 文件以及一系列子文件夹,包含你最近的字体项目,整齐地整理在子文件夹中。每个文件夹中包含大量对于生成 OTF 非常重要的文件。其中之一是你刚刚试图导出的字体的临时文件夹。提示:按修改日期整理文件会很有帮助。

字体的临时文件夹中有一个文件名为 generateFont.command

双击它,你的 “终端” 会打开。在终端中,makeotf 命令会弹出各种通知,记录你 OTF 的产生过程。你可以跳过备注和警告,但要寻找以 [FATAL] 开头的那些行。这些是阻止了字体文件生成的 “致命” 错误。通常在输出末尾左右,在 [Process completed] 上面,你会看到类似以下的内容:

本例中,[FATAL] 这行中说,“multiple glyphs euro Euro mapped to code 20ac”。意思是字体里有两个欧元符号,一个叫 euro,另一个叫 Euro,它们都有 20AC 这个 Unicode 值。现在你知道该做什么了:回到 Glyphs 中,并删掉其中一个欧元符号,然后再导出一遍。

当然了,你的实际情况可能会大有不同。另外,我们一直在努力让 Glyphs 能够为你提供描述性的错误消息。Glyphs 手册中也有一个详细的 “Error Handling” 章节,描述了可能出现的各种消息。

Subtable 溢出

有时你会收到一条错误信息,关于 “GPOS Subtable 溢出”。这里 GPOS 是存储 “字符形位置” 信息的 OpenType 表,如其名所示。其中包含字偶距和标符位置。可能产生这一错误最可能的原因是,你的字偶距对过多,或是字偶距群组过大,以及组中例外字偶距或例外组过多。

有几种方式来解决这一问题。按顺序尝试这些步骤,直到可以正常导出:

  1. 向 “文件 > 字体信息 > 字体 > 自定义参数” 中添加名为 Use Extension Kerning 的自定义参数并将其启用。
  2. 如果可以,去掉 markmkmk 特性,它们是用于存储结合标符位置信息的。不要担心,这并不会影响你的组合字符形。在 “文件 > 字体信息 > 子样” 中,对于无法导出的每个子样,都添加名为 Remove Features 的自定义参数。点击其 “值”,并在不同行中添加 markmkmk
  3. 前往 “窗口 > 字偶距”,着手删掉一些字偶距对。,可能从齿轮菜单中合并一些。考虑使用 mekkablue 脚本中的 “Kerning” 子菜单。这里有一系列以 “Remove Kerning” 开头的脚本,可能对你有所帮助。

祝你好运。

一直在导出个没完

你在导出对话框中一直转个不停?比如说,已经等了好几分钟?

有可能是因为你在导出一个带有复杂轮廓的 CFF 字体。最有可能导致导出不停的原因是轮廓的子程序化,它仅在简单整洁的结构中才能良好而有效地运作。在 “文件 > 字体信息 > 字体” 使用一个名为 Disable Subroutines 的简单自定义参数,并启用其值,即可解决问题。

不论如何,去阅读一下关于复杂轮廓的教程,看看能不能找到更方便的提示。

MakeOTF 句法错误

OpenType 特性代码中的句法错误是一类特殊情形。尤其是你在 “文件 > 字体信息 > 特性” 中有着过时的或手动的代码,你可能会得到题为 “MakeOTF 错误” 的对话框,指出包括错误代码的某一行:

如果你的对话框中有 “显示” 按钮,点击它。Glyphs 会带你前往特性代码中可能出问题的点。如果代码是自动生成的(即,“自动生成特性” 的选项为打开),尝试一下 “字体信息 > 特性” 窗口底部的 “更新” 和 “编译” 按钮。如果这不能解决问题,或者你有手动的特性代码,你就必须要细看一下错误信息说了什么(同样,手册中的 “Error Handling” 一节也会对此大有帮助),以及错误信息具体指向哪一点

但是请当心:MakeOTF 错误信息有时会缺少出问题的点。如果它指出了出问题的点,比如说 “句法错误,位于 "Udieresisgrave" 在 Class Uppercase”,显然,你需要看一下 Udieresisgrave 中是否有可疑之处。这个字符形是不是真的存在?它是否被设定为导出?是否有恰当的 Unicode 值?但是如果你在有问题的字符形中找不到任何错误,有可能是问题出现在与它相临的前一个字符形中。所以,在 Udieresisgrave 之前提到的字符形又怎样?是不是存在不对的句法,比如缺少分号或方括号?有非 ASCII 字符?甚至有可能是有不可见的字符,尤其是当这一行代码以所提到的字符形名称开始时。

你看,它可能是任何情况,但至少你知道要从哪里看。


2016-12-30 更新:添加了关于 “详细” 按钮的备注,以及关于 MakeOTF 句法错误的一节。
2020-01-24 更新:添加了 “Subtable 溢出” 和 “一直在导出个没完”。
2020-02-10 更新:修正录入错误(删除了单词 “very own”),将单词 “Overflow” 改为 “Overview”,更正了手册链接。

Chinese translation by Willie Liu (刘育黎) from 3type (三言).

Troubleshooting a Font that Does not Export

Tutorial
by Rainer Erich Scheichelbauer
en fr zh

24 January 2020 Published on 12 June 2013

Sometimes, you try to export a font but instead you get weird error messages. Here is how to fix that.

You tried to export a font via File > Export but all you got is a weird error message that says makeotfGlyphs. Huh?

Now, this means that the built-in makeotf command (which, as you probably have guessed, makes OTFs) choked on the font data it was supplied with. The most likely cause for this is a bad glyph name. But to find out what precisely the problem was, we need to run the makeotf command ourselves and see what happens.

To do that, you simply click on the Details button of the error dialog. It will take you straight to the Temp folder of the font project at hand. You can skip the next two paragraphs.

Or, if you do not have a Details button on your dialog, we need to go to ~/Application Support/Glyphs/Temp/. The quickest way is via the Script > Open Scripts Folder command. Glyphs will open the folder in Finder. Or actually, it opens its enclosing folder, Glyphs’ Application Support folder. There you may find various stuff: besides the Scripts folder, you may also find Plugins and Info folders. But what we are interested in now, is the Temp folder.

Now, inside the Temp folder, you will find OTFs and a bunch of subfolders containing all your recent font projects, neatly organized in subfolders. Each folder contains a number of files that are necessary for producing your OTF. One of them is the temp folder of the font you just tried to export. Hint: It helps to sort by Date Modified.

One of the files inside the font’s temp folder is called generateFont.command:

Double click it and your Terminal will open. There, the makeotf command will spit out all sorts of notifications, documenting the production process for your OTF. You can skip notes and warnings, but do look for lines that start with [FATAL]. These are the ‘fatal’ errors that prevented the generation of the font file. Usually towards the end of the output, just above from where it says [Process completed], you will see something like this:

In this case, the [FATAL] line says, ‘multiple glyphs euro Euro mapped to code 20ac’. This means that there are two Euro signs inside the font, one called euro, another one called Euro, and they both have the Unicode 20AC. Now you know what to do: Go back into Glyphs and delete one of the Euros, then export again.

Of course, your mileage may vary greatly. Plus, we have been hard at work making Glyphs give you descriptive error messages if something goes wrong. There is also a detailed Error Handling chapter in the Glyphs Handbook describing the various messages that may appear.

Subtable Overflow

Sometimes you will receive an error talking about a ‘GPOS Subtable Overflow’. Now GPOS is the OpenType table that stores glyph positioning info, hence the name. That include kerning and mark positioning. The most likely cause for the error is that you have too much kerning pairs, or kerning with large kerning groups and many group-exception and exception-group kern pairs.

There are several ways to deal with it. Try these steps in this order until the export works:

  1. Add a custom parameter called Use Extension Kerning to File > Font Info > Font > Custom Parameters and turn it on.
  2. If you can, get rid of mark and mkmk features, which store information about combining-mark positioning. Don’t worry, it will not affect your compounds. In File > Font Info > Instances, in every instance that fails to export, add a custom parameter called Remove Features. Click on its Value, and add mark and mkmk on separate lines.
  3. Go to Window > Kerning, and start getting rid of some your kerning pairs, perhaps compress kerning via the gear menu. Consider using the mekkablue scripts in the Kerning submenu. There are a bunch of scripts that start with Remove Kerning, which may help you.

Good luck.

Export Never Stops

You get the export dialog with the spinning symbol, and it just doesn’t stop? Like, you have been waiting for minutes already?

Chances are you are exporting a CFF font with complex outlines. The most likely cause for the never-ending export is the subroutinization of outlines, which only works well and efficiently for simple and clean outline structures. With a simple custom parameter called Disable Subroutines, its value being on, in File > Font Info > Font, your problem may be solved.

However, do read the tutorial about complex outlines and see if you can find more handy tips.

MakeOTF Syntax Errors

Syntax errors in the OpenType feature code are a special case. Especially if you have outdated or manual code in File > Font Info > Features, you may get a dialog titled MakeOTF Error, pointing to a problem in a certain line in the feature code:

If you have a Show button in the dialog, click on it. Glyphs will take you to the problematic spot in the feature code. If the code is automated (i.e., the Generate Feature Automatically option is on), try the Update and Compile buttons at the bottom of the Font Info > Features window. If that does not solve the problem, or if you have manual feature code, you will have to take a closer look at what exactly the error message says (again, the Error Handling section in the Handbook will be of great help here), and the exact spot the error message points to.

But careful: MakeOTF error messages sometimes miss the problematic spot. If it says, for instance, syntax error at "Udieresisgrave" in Class Uppercase, naturally, you will look and see if there is anything fishy about Udieresisgrave. Is the glyph there at all? Is it set to export? Does it have a proper Unicode value? But if you cannot find anything wrong with the glyph in question, chances are the problem is located immediately before. So, what about the glyph mentioned right before Udieresisgrave? Have you mistyped something? Is there superfluous syntax, like a stray semicolon or bracket? A non-ASCII character? It may even be an invisible character, especially when the code line starts with the mentioned glyph name.

You see, it can be pretty much anything, but at least you know where to look.


Update 2016-12-30: Added note about Details button and section about MakeOTF Syntax Errors.
Update 2020-01-24: Added Subtable Overflow and Export Never Stops.
Update 2020-02-10: Corrected typo, deleted words very own), changed word Overflow to Overview, corrected handbook links.